Winter skin care for normal / oily or combination skin

The weather s getting cold and our skin is getting dry . It’s time to hydrate and moisturise without the added grease and oil from thick creams!

Okay so let’s begin with face wash …opt for a milder face wash in winters. Ditch those harsh scrubs. Cleansing balms are great ..

I use the body shop vitamin e face wash and the Natio argan and almond cleansing balm. If you have acne prone skin please stick to a mild gel face wash. The nutrogena liquid wash , the Kama Ayurveda rose and jasmine face cleanser are some great options.

Use a mild toner in winters. I just use pure rose water .

I can never get away with thick moisturising creams. They clog my pores and face turns greasy even in winters. This is my newest discovery and I absolutely love it. I haven’t found anything as good as The Face Shop Chia seed moisturiser.

It is so light yet super hydrating. It’s like my face drank up a glass of water. The Koreans really make high class skincare products and this is a great example!! The pure rose water gel by forest essentials is good for acne prone skin! I like the clean and clear oil free moisturiser too which is an affordable but good alternative.

If ur skin can handle heavy creams there are great options like the body shop vitamin e range or drops of light.

Sunscreen is essential in winters too. The winter sun is more harmful and causes pigmentation and patches. When buying sunscreen pls remember a higher SPF does not give more coverage it just protects you longer. I stick to my favourite The la roche posay effaclar duo. It’s great for all skin types.

However lotus and nutrogena have some great sunscreens too. Pick a sunscreen that doesn’t leave a white undertone and one that’s light. Reapply if ur in out in the sun for too long.

Avoid clay face packs in winter . Make simple fruit based packs at home or buy sheet masks. They are hydrating and brightening at the same time.

Bananas and honey are great for dark spots. Avocado is a great moisturiser. Saffron infused milk with gram flour brightens face.

Steam your face with water infused with fresh rose petals for 2 mins and rinse with cold water once a week. This will unclog pores.

For night cream I stick to my favourite forest essentials jasmine and patchouli night treatment .

Vichy has some great night creams for problematic skin. Plum is a new brand which has really affordable chemical free products. The night cream is quite good.

I also use my Clinique pep start eye cream both in the morning and at night. A good affordable alternative is the biotique seaweed under eye gel. It reduces puffiness instantly. The body shop vitamin e eye gel is a good option too.

This is the time to invest in a good body moisturiser and a lip balm.

I use virgin coconut oil post shower all over my body .I will have to write a new blog if I have to list out the benefits of virgin coconut oil. It’s anti ageing and has a lot of medicinal values.

I sometimes mix it with my moisturiser for added benefits and it smells better.

Opt for a moisturiser that contains Shea or cocoa butter. If you are prone to acne on your body you can still use virgin coconut oil mixed with an oil free moisturiser.

I hope this blog was informative !! Please leave your comments and queries below !!

Published by

kirthi Anand

Hey !! I love lifestyle blogging... Travel, Food, Fashion and Makeup

Leave a comment